CFP: ‘Music and Theology in the European Reformations’, KULeuven, 19 – 21 Sept 2012

Closing date for proposals: 15th May 2012

Music and Theology in the European Reformations,
KULeuven, House of Polyphony,
19th – 21st September 2012

 Organised by the KULeuven Department of Musicology, the Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies, and the Alamire Foundation.

This conference will bring together musicologists, theologians, biblical scholars and historians to promote interdisciplinary debate between these parallel areas of specialisation, focussed upon the musical and liturgical outcomes of the various strands of the Reformation of the sixteenth century: Lutheran, Calvinist, Catholic, and Radical. Papers of 30 minutes’ length are invited on relevant topics. Themes include:

  • Developments in Biblical exegesis in the sixteenth century and their musical outcomes
  • The musical and liturgical impact of the Lutheran, Calvinist, Catholic and Radical Reformations
  • Music and early Christian literature in the sixteenth century: the Sibylline oracles, the Ancient Theology and the revival of ancient music

Invited speakers include:

  • Andrew Pettegree (St Andrews)
  • Maarten Wisse (VU Amsterdam)
  • Inga Groote (Zurich)
  • Robin Leaver (Rider College, emeritus)
  • Risto Saarinen (Helsinki)
  • Thomas Schmidt-Beste (Bangor)
  • Hyun-Ah Kim (Toronto)
  • Michael Questier (Queen Mary, London)
  • Katelijne Schiltz (LMU, Munich)
  • Nils Holger Petersen (Copenhagen)
  • Henk Jan de Jonge (Leiden, emeritus)
  • Frank Dobbins (Goldsmith’s College, London, emeritus)

 The preferred language of the conference is English, but other languages will also be considered. A special session for doctoral students will also take place. A published volume of proceedings is planned. The conference will take place at the “House of Polyphony,” the new headquarters of the Alamire Foundation, Leuven. Registration, covering conference materials, light refreshments and admission to a concert, will be EUR 80 (free to students and members of KULeuven).

 Abstracts should be sent to Grantley McDonald ( before 15 May 2012.

CFP Word Doc

 Local organising committee:
David Burn, KULeuven
Peter De Mey, KULeuven
Grantley McDonald, KULeuven
Joseph Verheyden, KULeuven

Leave a comment


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s